Denson Realty is offering a high-paying job – Administrative Assistant.
This is a home-based job with a salary of $52,000 per annum, and many
perks such as “Medical & Dental Insurance, Paid Vacation, Holiday,
Sick leave, Long Term Disability & Short Term Disability, and
Educational Assistance”.

Is this too good to be true, or an opportunity of a lifetime?

We did a search and found the following relevant facts:

1) Web search shows that the Denson Realty official website should be: http://www.densonrealty.net, or http://www.denson-realty.net
We find that it is “normal” for companies to have several domain that is similar so that they block domain hoggers from claiming similar names. No alarms here. The only question we had was, who registered densonrealty.com?

If you receive any email from other email addresses, please note that they may not be from Denson Realty.

The above job posting can be found at this URL.

2) BBB has a page dedicated to this company, and there are no complaints so far. However, there is no other information about the company, including the official website address. As such, it CANNOT be confirmed if their official website is at densonrealty.net. Another point to note is that the BBB file was only opened in Apr 09.

BBB.Org Link

According to BBB:

Name: Denson Realty, Inc.
Phone: (901) 620-5536
Address: 1927 New York Ave NE
  Washington, DC 20002
Principal: Mr. Paul Feldman, Human Resources Manager
Customer Contact: Mr. Paul Feldman, Human Resources Manager
File Open Date: April 2009
TOB Classification: Real Estate
BBB Accreditation: This company is not a BBB Accredited business.

3) We also found a warning at another scam alert blog, but it does not have any evidence that this is a scam.

4) Lastly, we decided to check out the domain registration information.

densonrealty.com is registered at budgetnames.com, and is owned by, Texas International Property Associates, 4041 W. Wheatland Suite 156-417 texasipa@gmail.com, registered since 2004. This is interesting, as the owners differ from the Apr 09 BBB records, which is Denson Realty, Inc.

densonrealty.net is registered at bizcn.com (China domain name registrar!? Alarm!)
denson-realty.net is registered at bizcn.com (China domain name registrar!? Alarm!)
Both domains are registered only in April 2009.

So who is the real owner of Denson Realty?

Apparently, Texas International Property Associates (herein known as TIPA) has been charged previously as a domain name hogger.

That rules out TIPA as the real Denson Realty.

So can we trust the current owners of DensonRealty.Net?

Registrar: BIZCN.COM, INC.
Whois Server: whois.bizcn.com
Referral URL: http://www.bizcn.com
Status: clientDeleteProhibited
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Updated Date: 30-apr-2009
Creation Date: 14-apr-2009
Expiration Date: 14-apr-2010

We could not conclude but remain skeptical that this company is real for 2 reasons as analysed above:
1) They only registered the domain name recently.
2) They registered the domain name in a Chinese website. Unless they know how to read Chinese, I don’t see why they could have registered their domain name in a website written in Chinese. (So are they Americans, or Chinese?)

In view of these facts, anybody who would like to seek a job with this company should proceed with caution.
1) Never believe in any checks sent by them (common work-at-home scam is to receive fake checks).
2) Never send any money to your employer (you are employed to serve, and receive payment in return. Not the other way round).

According to the feedback we received (see attached email below), it seemed that the company has another address in the UK and is not linked to the one as stated in the website. Assuming that denson-realty.net is legitimate, another question is whether the other one in UK is real.

received this information (see below my letter) after applying to
an online job at Yahoo, Hot Jobs.  Is this a scam?  Their website list
the same career announcement as below, but with this company being UK
based, according to their website, I’m concerned.  I did find a Denson
Services Limited in the UK thanks to wck2.companieshouse.gov.uk,
but I couldn’t track it back from there or verify their address at 40
Mill St., Bedford, Bedforshire, MK403HD, UK  they list 44-1234-267459
as their phone, only I don’t get international calling on my phone so
that is useless. 


So far if this is a scam they haven’t asked for anything but
confirmation of my phone numbers but those are on my resume.  (Huge
phone bill coming?) The contact information for the 206 area goes to
Washington state, but they are based in Washington DC according to
their address on their website.  The area code difference vrs. address
would not be unusual if they are internet based – would it?.


 I did find a Denson Realty listing realtor, but that was out of Florida. 


 Can you untangle this as real or as a scam?

— On Tue, 4/28/09, hr@denson-realty.net <hr@denson-realty.net> wrote:

From: hr@denson-realty.net <hr@denson-realty.net>
Subject: [RE]: HotJobs application. Approved.


I am replying to your application at Yahoo! HotJobs.

behalf of Denson Realty I would like to thank you for taking the time
to apply for a position of Administrative Assistant. Now that we have
taken your application further I would like to go briefly over some of
the key points related to the job offer. More details will be revealed
later in the employment agreement.

Job Title: Administrative Assistant

Realty company information: We are a leading Property-Investment
Company based in the D.C., dedicated to supporting investors in the
world’s emerging property markets. To become familiar with our products
and services please refer to our website at http://www.denson-realty.net

This position involves:
•    Filing and Data Entry;
•    Online property database
•    Updating information on existing properties which are currently for sale;
•    Customer queries & complaints;
•    Resolving customer & technical issues;
•    Liaise with both customers and internal departments;
•    Typing of letters and documentation;
•    General administrative tasks.

Location: This is a home-based position. Travel/relocation is not
required. You can work from anywhere just as long as you have access to
the Internet.

Working hours: Monday to Friday, 9am – 4pm (your local time zone).

Salary: $52,000 annually. Paid monthly by direct deposit.

Benefits: Medical and Dental insurance; Life insurance; Paid Vacation.

Hiring Process: We are offering you a position within our company on a
trial basis for two weeks. At the completion of the trial period your
supervisor can recommend continued employment, extension of trial
period, or termination. During this trial period you will be receiving
training and online support while working and being paid. (During the
trial period you will be paid biweekly, $1,000 per week.)

Step: In order to proceed please submit your Cell/Landline phone
numbers via email (by replying to this message) and confirm that
information is correct and up-to-date.. I assume that you would be able
to start working as soon as possible. Please confirm this. Also, during
the next several weeks please keep me informed of any deadlines that
you may be facing (i.e. pending job offers, current employment
obligations). Thank you once again and feel free to email me any
questions that you may have at this point.

Yours sincerely,

Paul Feldman
HR Manager
Denson Realty
In the next page, we received another update sent from “DensonRealty.Net” to our reporter.