Online Recruitment Scam with High-Paying Jobs

  • 2-20-2007

We received a hot scam from an email regarding online scam artists offering high-paying job of about 600 GBP per week, or US$9,000 per month. The scammer will require the victim to send an advanced fee to a personal account, in order to make the necessary Visa and travel arrangements.

These scamming baits can be found via email and at social networking sites at myspace.com. Most of the time, the victims may be hired even when the lack the credentials for the job.

In one instance, a 56-year old security guard sent US$2,100 to Sierra Leone after being promised a job as a security director in a Bahrain hotel with a monthly salaray of US$9,000. After the money was sent, the job never came.

In another, a lady named Ms Dacillo received an offer after she posted "jobs wanted" at myspace.com. She was offered a 600GBP a week to work as an au pair (aka nanny) to a 5-year-old boy in England. When she was required to transfer money to a Nigeria personal, she probably sensed something was not right and did not pursue further.

Others were offered highly paid jobs as investment consultants in Canada and operations manager in Europe.

Are these the Rules to follow?

1) Some would pointed out that it is a scam since the scammers did not wish to speak over the phone. It is important to note that some scammers would go to the extent to speak with you on the phone, just to convince you. Never use phone call as a judgement of whether it is a scam or not.

2) Some may also say that if the offer is from country A and your advanced payment is to an account in country B, then it is probably a scam. However, it is not a spam if both the offer and advanced payment is the same country, right? WRONG! It is possible for the scam artist to have counterparts in other countries, including the country which the scam story is played. Try to search among hotscams.com articles. Never use payment location as a judgement of whether it is a scam or not.

How do you know when there is a scam?


1) If the offer sounds too good to be true, it is likely to be a scam. You can easily find so many emails and articles about good, scam offers in hotscams.com

2) When an unsolicited offers includes asking for your personal particulars to be sent to a free email address, it smells full of scam.

3) If the offer did not come from any established job agency. (NOTE: please check, call and email back to the job agency as some scammers will use fake email address).

4) Do not rush to pay any "advanced fees" just after 1 or 2 emails. Try to contact the "agent" and find out their background. Make them provide proper credentials before you proceed.

In any case, we still believe that para 1) is still the best check. Most people that try to dig gold opportunities on the internet usually get their hands burnt badly. In fact, the internet is full of traps for the newbies, and is a Gold Mine only to those who are experienced when used legally. 




Comments (5)

shahid
Said this on 1-15-2011 At 10:22 am

 

Dear sir,  

             I have applied for job in  a company at Malaysia named GOLDEN ATLATIC CRUISE LINER INTERNATIONAL

their web site is www.Gacli.com

For the post of Electrical technician.

So they send me Appointment letter and  Guided me to contact me a consultant for work permit application. And demanding the fee for all this process 700$ USD.

Please confirm me for this process to do so or not. Is it legal.? Should I do so. ?

The addressed of company are as under

 

GOLDEN ATLATIC CRUISE LINER INTERNATIONAL SDN BHD

LOT 814 SECTION 21,KLD JALAN PUDUNGAN DATUK OYONG LAWAI KUCHING SARAWAK

EAST MALAYSIA

TEL/FAX 0060 – 32693 9774

DIRICT LINE 0060- 132596083

 

 

 CHIEF EXECUITIVE

Mr Mullens Grahem,

 

 

 

 

 

0122557650

Human resources Manager,

Mr Anthony Barnard.

 

And their consultant is

 

ROHAIDAH ALI & associates

 

Ofiice address

 

A 312, block B1, Level 9, Kuanrtan center point Malaysia 26000

 

Tel           0060  322 601283

 

Muhammad Yusof  Ali,

Abdualhakim zahara,

 

:  ROHAIDAH ALI & ASSOCIATES

E-MAIL: rohaidahali_associates@oued.org

        rohaidahali_associates1@live.com.my

TELL   :  +60193086156

 

Joe
Said this on 11-29-2010 At 02:32 pm

I recently replied to an ad, inquired about a job in Maintenance Manager. When clicking on the link I was directed to Aramark Regional Staffing which is probably an agency. They had 5 or so links to a number of positions but further down the page there'a a link to this >Online Recruiter, Part Time $500-700/Week

I was reading the job description, it says you work 3- 6 hrs a week by placing some ads on newspapers, magazines, etc. and then they allegedly send $600 where you take your payment of $100 & the other 500 to pay for the advertising fees.

It sounds very similar to those other Dirtbags out there trying to send or wire phony checks except, this one is not asking for you to mail back any money to them and they state that they will send a 1099 form @ the end of the year.

I googled the title & company but I see no complaints or reviews on this. Can anyone advise me on this before I make a possible dumb move ? Thanks so much.

Tammy
Said this on 1-5-2011 At 04:50 pm

Hello Joe,

So I just came across the same site and sent in my information as well. Wanted to see if there was any progress(?) and if this was legit?

Please let me know how it went.  Hope its not a scam...

tammy

Said this on 2-1-2011 At 02:27 pm

Hi Tammy,

 

I receivenemail stating that I was hired as a Regional Recruiter and will be sent a check for $1410.00  to post ads on line.Sounds so good to be true,because when I checked on the linked, Promographix Inc,. the website in under const. I will continue working on this one until I get a confirmation

 

 

saurabh
Said this on 2-12-2008 At 12:10 pm
impressive ....
Post a Comment
* Your Name:
* Your Email:
(not publicly displayed)
Reply Notification:
Approval Notification:
Website:
* Security Image:
Security Image Generate new
Copy the numbers and letters from the security image:
* Message: