Quick Search
Quick Links
QUICK SUBMISSION
Submit new reports using the link above. If it is approved, your posts will get published on the front page under Recent Comments (see right). We will publish a separate report by itself if necessary.
Access to Public Records
This online background verification service lets you instantly access numerous public records databases for your personal investigations and includes unlisted phone numbers, property searches, criminal records, vital statistics, adoption files, tax court records and more.
Special Categories
Recent Blogs
Categories
Content Archive
Blogroll
We accept link exchange for related websites
Job Scam: Fake Media Dimensions Inc. at mediadimension.biz
- 2-6-2010
- Categorized in: Fake Check Scam, Job Scams
The real Media Dimensions Inc. is located at mediadimensions.com
If you get a job offer from mediadimension.biz, it is a scam. This domain was only registered within a week with full contact privacy:
Technical Contact Email: mediadimension.biz@contactprivacy.com
Created by Registrar: TUCOWS INC.
Last Updated by Registrar: TUCOWS INC.
Domain Registration Date: Wed Feb 03 17:03:45 GMT 2010
Domain Expiration Date: Wed Feb 02 23:59:59 GMT 2011
Domain Last Updated Date: Wed Feb 03 17:03:56 GMT 2010
All the names and pictures used at this site are not to be trusted. Also note the email address is directed to the domain at rgonau.com, which is a parked page rgonau.com, which is registered only a few days before mediadimension.biz on Jan 31, 2010. It also has contact privacy enabled.
When dealing directly with a company for jobs or business, please be aware of companies with whois privacy mask placed over their domain.
The scam conducted by this site is a fake check scam. You will be asked to cash a check and wire the money to someone else. When the bank found out its a fake check later, they will ask you to return the money.
Please read the following report by one of our readers:
-----
From: Media Dimensions Inc <contact@rgonau.com>
Date: Fri, Feb 5, 2010 at 4:12 AM
Subject: 2. Confirm for Newspaper Advertiser
To: jesse.barry@students.wcbc.edu
You are accepted for this position.
A certified check of $1,315 will be released in the morning for the position you applied for. It will arrive to your address within 4-6 days from today. Simply cash the check same day when you receive it, at your bank, and follow instructions. It is very important to post the ads exactly like we will send it to you, all words. After the ads are posted you still have 24 hours and you can modify the content, no problems if you make a mistake first time, simply forward us the confirmation emails that publications will send and we will correct if needed.
You will place 2 employment ads after you receive first payment in Chicago Tribune and Miami Herald newspapers. You will call an 1-800 number to do this task. You will receive instructions and complete "how to" specifications, also the text that will appear in the ads, it will take like 5 minutes to do it. Simply let us know when you will receive the cashier's check next week. Your commission is $200 from this order. You must place the order in max. 48 hours after you receive the money.
Requirements:
Do not cash certified checks at check cashing stores, they have huge fees and we don't support them.
Do not abandon your email addresses we have on file from you! Check your email every evening, check also BULK/SPAM folders, our updates may go there sometimes.
Do not play with our time and our money, do not apply if you are not able to perform the simple tasks!
Please confirm your full name and address that we have on file:
First name, Last name (No Nicknames):
Street Address (NO PO Boxes):
City, State, Postal Zip Code:
Two E-mail addresses:
Please reply with specified info to confirm that you received this email.
Thank you
Media Dimensions Inc., Contact: Diane Webb
11 Church Street, Toronto, ON, M5E 1W1 Canada,
Telephone: 416-861-1773
Then they sent me this:
This email needs confirmation from your part. It is for position you applied for. A certified check of $1,315 will be released in the morning for the position Classifieds Advertiser. Simply cash the check same day when you receive it, at your bank, and follow instructions. It is very important to post the ads exactly like we will send it to you, all words. After the ads are posted you still have 24 hours and you can modify the content, no problems if you make a mistake first time, simply forward us the confirmation emails that publications will send and we will correct if needed.
You will place 2 employment ads after you receive first payment in Chicago Tribune and Miami Herald newspapers. You will call an 1-800 number to do this task. You will receive instructions and complete "how to" specifications, also the text that will appear in the ads, it will take like 5 minutes to do it. Simply let us know when you will receive the cashier's check next week. Your commission is $200 from this order. You must place the order in max. 48 hours after you receive the money.
Requirements:
Do not cash certified checks at check cashing stores, they have huge fees and we don't support them.
Do not abandon your email addresses we have on file from you! Check your email every evening, check also BULK/SPAM folders, our updates may go there sometimes.
Do not play with our time and our money, do not apply if you are not able to perform the simple tasks!
Please confirm your full name and address that we have on file:
First name, Last name (No Nicknames):
Street Address (NO PO Boxes):
City, State, Postal Zip Code:
Two E-mail addresses:
Please reply with specified info to confirm that you received this email.
Thank you
Media Dimensions Inc., Contact: Diane Webb, Website: www.mediadimension.biz
11 Church Street, Toronto, ON, M5E 1W1 Canada,
Telephone: 416-861-1773


I LIVE IN BC, CANADA & I RECIEVED THE SAME BOGUS EMAIL FROM THIS SO CALLED TEXACO LOTTERY...WE DON'T EVEN HAVE "TEXACO"HERE.HOWEVER, CAN SOMEONE PLEASE TELL ME WHAT THE PURPOSE IS OF THIS SCAM? AND, WHAT ARE THEY DOING WITH THE PERSONAL INFO THAT THEY RECIEVE? IDENTITY THEFT? OR WHAT? IF THAT'S THE CASE & THEY USE MY NAME, THEY'LL BE IN FOR A SURPRISE.
I just got scammed. If these people are capable of doing this to people especially those who is in desperate need what more are the able to do. This is an extremely dangerous game to play. PLEASE DO NOT GIVE OUT YOUR ADDRESS or any other details. I will have to purchase another sim card for my cellphone now. Please scammers you are doing harm to those in need find something else to make a living and stop purpatrating the innocent.
I was chatting with a man calling himself Karl Konrad. He said he was doing an IT job in Benin and after chatting with him for a few weeks, he said he didn't have enough funds to finish the job. He asked for bank account information to have money put into my account. Said he has a son, late wife, and from Munich, but lived in the states.
hey g-man. what did the check look like? was it from the American Security Bank from Lancaster CA?
I stupidly replied to this email one day ago( 16 Feb 2010).
Today I decided to check out the website. How do I stop this scam from happening? What do I do now? Please help me.
I've reported them to Western Union. I haven't received any checks yet, but this was one of those too good to be true obvious scams. Please forward your emails to spoof@westernunion.com. If the payments need to be made from the U.S., why do they want money via. Western Union back to Canada?
I agree with all of you....just like everyone else i needed some extra money so i applied...and was accepted, but here is the kicker....they actually sent me a check for $3,889 dollars and the check looks real enough but for some reason i got a funny feeling that i never ignore!!!
It was too easy!!! If i was sending that much money to someone I never met, I would want to know something about that person. They don't ask any questions, just sent the money just like that!!
I fell for it too and gave them my info, but then I found this website and will not be participating. What did you do when then sent you the check/ how did you get out of it?
same emails were sent to me im glad i looked it up on the web first.
Thank goodness for common sense. I am a full time student and thought that "newpaper advertiser" would be a perfect little side job that I could do from home inbetween my studys. I received the exact email yesterday after only asking a few questions about the job. I had a question mark over my head when they say I was hired, then gave me a list of obsurd instructions. Also the fact that they are based out of Canada kinda weirded me out. Bummer it wasn't legit or we would all be gettin paid. :9
Thank you person for posting this for all of us!
I have a question for anyone to answer.
What was the responding email that you sent back to them?
I almost fell for it until i found this site thank you! i got the same exact email as the person on here did
Yes, this is a scam. I don't know why these aren't investigated more and shut down. Then people fall for them and become victimized by the scammer, but nothing is being done to the websites and companies; just the people being scammed!!!!