- Home
- Various Scams
- Updated List of Postcard or Greeting Card Scam
Updated List of Postcard or Greeting Card Scam
- By Jay HS
- Published 08/16/2007
- Various Scams
-
Rating:




----Updated: 16 Aug 07----
Recent e-greeting card scams have started to change its "form". The email address of the sender is no longer from those "e-greeting" websites, but any random email address. The link may also be an IP address only. A typical one looks like the attached mail below. They have also introduced more fake website names such as googlygreetings.com, 1lovecards.com, funnygreetings.net, etc.
-----Attached-----
From: gaohaf@fina.hr [mailto:gaohaf@fina.hr]
Sent: Thursday, August 16, 2007
Subject: Musical card mail
Son(gaohaf@fina.hr) has created Musical card for you mail
at googlygreetings.com.
To see your custom Musical card, simply click on the following link:
http://74.79.14.126/
Send a FREE greeting card from googlygreetings.com whenever you want by visiting us at:
This service is provided and hosted by googlygreetings.com.
-----End Attached-----
----Updated: 6 Aug 07----
We have updated the list of subjects and domains used in the ongoing, online greeting card, postcard scam that is sent via email. They will contain the following link that is harmful:
http://62.178.189.232/?912b62c4232c3a9ebeed4356
Beware of malware, virus, trojans that will result in crash PC, lost identity, lost login information, that will cause indirect destruction of your bank account. Such mails are no less harmful than those requiring you to download a "patch" or software that contains the bad codes.
Just a side track: You might not believe how easy it is for someone to plant the malware or virus on your PC, especially when it is Naked without any anti-virus software. During my training in the Certified Ethical Hacker course, we were shown a site owned by one of our senior trainer. There was a title saying "Click to see the naked pictures of <a celebrity>". That ONE click alone will be enough to install any germs, malware and virus on your site.
One thing we must always keep in mind is to respect hackers. By respecting, what I mean is that everything we do online, keep them in mind because sometimes a wrong move at the wrong time when we are least alert will be enough. Its just like locking your house door and windows. If you own a castle, all it takes is just ONE unlock window among the 100s of windows for the uninvited to enter.
You see, the Security personnel are always looking for this ONE window to patch up. Whereas, the Hacker is always looking for ONE window that is opened for them to enter. Everyday, the race to find that "window" first has never stopped.
And when hackers send you email to install "patch" or click on the "link", they are basically telling you:
"Hey, please open up THIS window for me." He knows exactly which
window will be opened once you have taken the bait.
Remember the part we always say in many of our post and our Anti-Scam guide? Hackers and scammers do not expect to catch a full load of victims, just a few of you (or even ONE) per day who breaks the rule is "good" enough. That isn't too difficult when they send mass mails in the thousands every week or month. We don't expect everyone to be equal.
Ok, back to the greeting card scam. The following domains have been used in very recent e-greeting or postcard scams. Watch out!
And "fake" domains used include (and not limited to):
123Greetings.com
2000Greetings.Com
all-yours.net
AmericanGreetings.com
Bluemountain.com
E-cards.com
FreeWebCards.Com
FunnyPostCard.com
Greetingcard.org
Greet2k.com
Greeting-Cards.com
HallMark.com
NetFunCards.com
Postcard.com
Postcards.com
postcardsfrom.com
riversongs.com
vintagepostcards.com
We did not check but believe that some of the sites above are legitimate, and Not those emails that you received.
They often have a Subject: (not limited to these)
"You've received a greeting ecard from a Colleague!"
"You've received a greeting ecard from a Class-Mate!"
"You've received a greeting ecard from a Family Member!"
"You've received a greeting ecard from a Mate!"
"You've received a greeting ecard from a Neighbor!"
"You've received a greeting ecard from a Neighbour!"
"You've received a greeting ecard from a Partner!"
"You've received a greeting ecard from a School-Mate!"
"You've received a greeting ecard from a School friend!"
"You've received a greeting ecard from a Worshipper!"
Recent e-greeting card scams have started to change its "form". The email address of the sender is no longer from those "e-greeting" websites, but any random email address. The link may also be an IP address only. A typical one looks like the attached mail below. They have also introduced more fake website names such as googlygreetings.com, 1lovecards.com, funnygreetings.net, etc.
-----Attached-----
From: gaohaf@fina.hr [mailto:gaohaf@fina.hr]
Sent: Thursday, August 16, 2007
Subject: Musical card mail
Son(gaohaf@fina.hr) has created Musical card for you mail
at googlygreetings.com.
To see your custom Musical card, simply click on the following link:
http://74.79.14.126/
Send a FREE greeting card from googlygreetings.com whenever you want by visiting us at:
This service is provided and hosted by googlygreetings.com.
-----End Attached-----
----Updated: 6 Aug 07----
We have updated the list of subjects and domains used in the ongoing, online greeting card, postcard scam that is sent via email. They will contain the following link that is harmful:
http://62.178.189.232/?912b62c4232c3a9ebeed4356
Beware of malware, virus, trojans that will result in crash PC, lost identity, lost login information, that will cause indirect destruction of your bank account. Such mails are no less harmful than those requiring you to download a "patch" or software that contains the bad codes.
Just a side track: You might not believe how easy it is for someone to plant the malware or virus on your PC, especially when it is Naked without any anti-virus software. During my training in the Certified Ethical Hacker course, we were shown a site owned by one of our senior trainer. There was a title saying "Click to see the naked pictures of <a celebrity>". That ONE click alone will be enough to install any germs, malware and virus on your site.
One thing we must always keep in mind is to respect hackers. By respecting, what I mean is that everything we do online, keep them in mind because sometimes a wrong move at the wrong time when we are least alert will be enough. Its just like locking your house door and windows. If you own a castle, all it takes is just ONE unlock window among the 100s of windows for the uninvited to enter.
You see, the Security personnel are always looking for this ONE window to patch up. Whereas, the Hacker is always looking for ONE window that is opened for them to enter. Everyday, the race to find that "window" first has never stopped.
And when hackers send you email to install "patch" or click on the "link", they are basically telling you:
"Hey, please open up THIS window for me." He knows exactly which
Remember the part we always say in many of our post and our Anti-Scam guide? Hackers and scammers do not expect to catch a full load of victims, just a few of you (or even ONE) per day who breaks the rule is "good" enough. That isn't too difficult when they send mass mails in the thousands every week or month. We don't expect everyone to be equal.
Ok, back to the greeting card scam. The following domains have been used in very recent e-greeting or postcard scams. Watch out!
And "fake" domains used include (and not limited to):
123Greetings.com
2000Greetings.Com
all-yours.net
AmericanGreetings.com
Bluemountain.com
E-cards.com
FreeWebCards.Com
FunnyPostCard.com
Greetingcard.org
Greet2k.com
Greeting-Cards.com
HallMark.com
NetFunCards.com
Postcard.com
Postcards.com
postcardsfrom.com
riversongs.com
vintagepostcards.com
We did not check but believe that some of the sites above are legitimate, and Not those emails that you received.
They often have a Subject: (not limited to these)
"You've received a greeting ecard from a Colleague!"
"You've received a greeting ecard from a Class-Mate!"
"You've received a greeting ecard from a Family Member!"
"You've received a greeting ecard from a Mate!"
"You've received a greeting ecard from a Neighbor!"
"You've received a greeting ecard from a Neighbour!"
"You've received a greeting ecard from a Partner!"
"You've received a greeting ecard from a School-Mate!"
"You've received a greeting ecard from a School friend!"
"You've received a greeting ecard from a Worshipper!"
Spread The Word
Related Articles
- Scratch & Win Coupon Scam
- Malware Alert! Please download this patch!
- eBay lookalike phishing email
- National City Phishing Scam
- Rise in lottery and phishing scams at Hammonton
- 19million Euro ROYAL SPANISH SWEEPSTAKE LOTTERY
- Earn 30% of US$9million Dollars Fast!
- US$20 million from Lucas of Zimbabwe
- Fake Citibank Security Update Email
- US$33 million Nigeria Scam Biggest Payout! Quick! Quick!
2 Responses to "Updated List of Postcard or Greeting Card Scam" 
|
said this on 29 Sep 2007 2:11:08 PM CDT
I HOPE YOU ARENT A SCAM SIGHT TOO. I NOTICED THAT ALL THE E CARD SIGHTS REQUIRED A FEE WHICH ARE OUTRAGEOUS. HALLMARK CHARGES 10 BUCKS. EVEN MAKE A WISH, WHICH I GULLIBLY DONATED TOO. SHAME ON ME IM RUNNING VISTA AND GUESS IVE BEEN HACKED YET AGAIN. TELL PEOPLE USING VISTA THERE ARE NO PATCHES OR UPDATES FOR VISTA YET SO WE ARE SITTING DUCKS. I HATE VISTA.I HAVE A BRAND NEW DELL NOTEBOOK LITTLE DID I KNOW THE PROBLEMS I WOULD ENCOUNTER. PASS ON THE TIP ON VISTA.
|
|
said this on 09 May 2008 2:28:32 PM CDT
This is scary. I have used 123greetings.
In the past I have used Hallmark. I noticed there is a difference in the name HallMark. |

Author/Admin)